SEC Dominates Another Draft

by NGL Personnel

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA-  The first ever National Gridiron League Draft took place Monday, all twelve NGL franchises selected October 1st and a bevy of talent was available. When the dust settled, it seemed like more than 36 picks had come off the board. But that's all that happened on Monday night, along with no team conducting trades and plenty of live stream forgettable moments.

The Southeastern Conference dominated just as it does the National Football League draft with six players being selected from Southeastern Conference schools. The first SEC player selected was Georgia linebacker Marcus Dowtin by the Mississippi Mudcats. Dowtin brings a tremendous tenacity to the game and will provide the Mudcats with force in the middle. Other conferences that were well represented include Conference USA with four of the thirty-six selections coming from CUSA schools. Not to be outdone was the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics or NAIA having two players selected from non-NCAA schools with first-round selection Mac Roche of Carroll College being the fourth overall selection in the draft. 

Five draftees participated in NGL Regional Combines with Blue Bombers defensive end Seth Dooley of Virginia Tech leading the way.


  1. KAPITALS: Noel Devine, RB, West Virginia
  2. PIONEERS: David Perkins, DE, Illinois State
  3. TWISTERS: Travis Tarnowski, QB, Ashland
  4. BIGHORNS: Mac Roche, QB, Carroll College
  5. STAMPEDE: Corey Henry, DE, Florida Atlantic
  6. BLUE BOMBERS: Seth Dooley, DE, Virginia Tech
  7. RED STICKS: Erick McIntosh, CB, Florida Atlantic
  8. IRON HORSES: Jeffery Greene, WR, Ohio State
  9. MUDCATS: Marcus Dowtin, MLB, Georgia
  10. DESTROYERS: Lyle McCombs, RB, Connecticut
  11. WILDCATS: Quentin Johnson, DE, Mercer
  12. FIREBIRDS: Timothy Dawson, DE, Yale


  1. FIREBIRDS: Bob Pugh, WR, Indiana State
  2. WILDCATS: Antonio Bostick, QB, Savannah State
  3. DESTROYERS: Nicholas Williams, DE, Arkansas Pine-Bluff
  4. MUDCATS: Johnathan McCrary, QB, Vanderbilt/ Clark Atlanta
  5. IRON HORSES: Chris Mangus, RB, Virginia Tech
  6. RED STICKS: Javari Nichols, NG, Southeast Louisiana
  7. BLUE BOMBERS: Rodrea Brown, DE, Limestone
  8. STAMPEDE: Devonte Cruse, G, Oklahoma State
  9. BIGHORNS: Chad Davis, CB, North Texas
  10. TWISTERS: Adonis Cruz, G, Cheyney
  11. PIONEERS: Isaiah Lewis, S, Michigan State
  12. KAPITALS: Malik Argue, DE, Langston


  1. BLUE BOMBERS: Joe Morrow, WR, Mississippi State
  2. RED STICKS: Ryan Perrilloux, QB, Louisiana State
  3. STAMPEDE: Byron Mabry, DE, Temple
  4. IRON HORSES: Remington Hinshaw, K, Virginia Tech
  5. BIGHORNS: Kevin Spears, WR, Louisiana State
  6. MUDCATS: Jameon Lewis, WR, Mississippi State
  7. TWISTERS: Donald Davis, DE, Pasadena City
  8. DESTROYERS: Dominique Patterson, S, Fort Valley State
  9. PIONEERS: Donte Hayesworth, CB, Norfolk State
  10. WILDCATS: Gregory Hollinger, WR, South Alabama
  11. KAPITALS: Teron Grice, MLB, Texas State
  12. FIREBIRDS: James Gray, S, North Texas

For more information please continue to visit